Règles complètes de Magic: The Gathering

Règles US [30/09/2011] Règles FR [04/02/2011]


0. Introduction

1. Concepts du Jeu

2. Composantes d'une Carte

3. Types de Carte

4. Les Zones

5. Structure du tour

6. Sorts, capacités et effets

7. Règles supplémentaires

8. Règles multi-joueurs

9. Variantes conviviales

711. Règles supplémentaires : Cartes Double-Face


A double-faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. Each face may have abilities that allow the permanent to ?transform,? or turn over to its other face. Tokens and cards with a Magic card back can‘t transform. (See rule 701.25, ?Transform.?)


A double-faced card‘s front face is indicated by the sun symbol in its upper left corner.


A double-faced card‘s back face is indicated by the moon symbol in its upper left corner.


While a double-faced card is in a public zone, each player may look at both faces. In other zones, each player that is allowed to look at a double-faced card may look at both faces.


If the back face of a double-faced card is a creature, the front face of that card will have the back face‘s power and toughness printed in gray above the power and toughness box. This is reminder text and has no effect on game play.


Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.


In every zone other than the battlefield, and also on the battlefield with its front face up, a double-faced card has only the characteristics of the front face.


While a double-faced permanent‘s back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. The back face doesn‘t have a mana cost; it has the colors in its color indicator (see rule




Except for determining whether or not a permanent can transform, a spell, ability, effect, or rule that needs information about a double-faced permanent sees only the information given by the face that‘s currently up. Example: A Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Wildblood Pack (the back face of a double-faced card). The Clone will be a copy of the Wildblood Pack. Because the Clone is itself not a double-faced card, it can?t transform. Example: A player casts Cytoshape, causing a Kruin Outlaw (the front face of a doublefaced card) to become a copy of Elite Vanguard (a 2/1 Human Soldier creature) until end of turn. The player then casts Moonmist, which reads, in part, “Transform all Humans.” Because the copy of Elite Vanguard is a double-faced card, it will transform. The resulting permanent will have its back face up, but it will still be a copy of Elite Vanguard that turn.


If a double-faced card is cast as a spell, it‘s put on the stack with its front face up. A doublefaced card can‘t be cast face down. See rule 601, ?Casting Spells.?


A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up.


A double-faced permanent always has the status ?face up? (see rule 110.6). Double-faced permanents can‘t be turned face down. If a spell or ability tries to turn a double-faced permanent face down, nothing happens.


When a double-faced permanent transforms, it doesn‘t become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms. Example: An effect gives Village Ironsmith (the front face of a double-faced card) +2/+2 until end of turn and then Village Ironsmith transforms into Ironfang. Ironfang will continue to get +2/+2 until end of turn.


If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player may name either face of a double-faced card but not both.


Players must ensure that double-faced cards in hidden zones are indistinguishable from other cards in the same zone. To do this, the owner of a double-faced card may use completely opaque card sleeves or substitute a checklist card. Sanctioned tournaments have additional rules for playing with double-faced cards. See rule 100.6.


If a checklist card is used, the double-faced card it represents must be set aside prior to the beginning of the game (see rule 103.1a) and must be available throughout the game. A checklist card can‘t be included in a deck unless it is representing a double-faced card.


The face of each checklist card is divided into sections. Each section lists the name and mana cost of each double-faced card it could represent and includes a fill-in circle. When using a checklist card, exactly one of the fill-in circles must be marked to denote which double-faced card the checklist card represents.


For all game purposes, the checklist card is considered to be the double-faced card it‘s representing. It has that double-faced card‘s characteristics in all zones.


As the checklist card enters a public zone, the checklist card should be set aside and the double-faced card used instead. If the checklist card is exiled face down, its identity should continue to be hidden using the face-down checklist card.